Issue with centering data

Hi
First of all - thanks for developing Shapeworks. It looks like a great piece of software that will be very useful in many fields.

After having gone through the examples, I started playing around with my own data (MRI data of muscles) in Shapeworks Studio. Following the ‘ellipsoid’ example, I placed a set of binary masks in a folder and adjusted the Excel-file to the corresponding filenames. I managed to open the data in Shapeworks Studio but got stuck in the Grooming phase when rigidly aligning my shapes. If I select the option ‘Center’ I end up without any results: no groomed shapes are generated and the distance maps are empty. I’m thinking it might have something to do with the header information in my NDDR files, but the files open in the correct coordinate system in other software (e.g. ITK-SNAP).
Any ideas on how to resolve this issue?

Thanks in advance.
Bart

Hi Bart,

Have you tried using the default parameters. After the grooming step, the visualization is typically expecting distance transforms. I would recommend having anti aliasing and fast marching (distance transform) on as well. Let us know if the defaults work.

Also, sometimes the camera could be off, there is a reset camera button on the lower left of the viewers.

Hi

Yes, I tried with the default settings at first and after some trial and error I figured out it’s the “Center” option that resulted in empty distance transforms. So the distance transforms are made (nrrd files), but upon inspection in ITK-SNAP I found out the entire image is 0. Without centering the shapes I do get distance transforms as expected (and visualisations in Shapeworks), but they are not aligned which may lead to the error I get in the next step (trying to sample outside of narrow band).

Bart

Do you think you might be able to share a couple of your data files with us so that we could take a look?

Hi Alan